U Astronomy, New AURA Member

Banner photo by Gail Zasowski

The Association of Universities for Astronomy (AURA) is pleased to welcome two new member institutions: the University of Utah and the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA). Both institutions’ applications to join AURA were approved by AURA’s Member Representatives at its April annual meeting in Tucson, Arizona.

University of Utah astronomy

Established in 1850, the University of Utah is the flagship university of the state. A community of students, staff and scholars, the University of Utah—affectionately called “the U”—is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through innovative research; the education of future citizens, professionals and leaders; and scholarly and creative pursuits that preserve and broaden our understanding of the human condition. The U prepares students for leadership roles in Utah, the country and the world. Located in one of the darkest states in the nation, housing the Consortium for Dark Sky Studies and launching the first-ever minor in dark sky studies in the U.S., the U is a leader in exploring the impacts of artificial light at night and the loss of our night skies through a broad range of disciplines.

The University of Utah’s Department of Physics & Astronomy in the College of Science is committed to pursuing key science questions within an inclusive academic community; to training and diversifying the next generation of researchers, educators and technology workforce leaders; and to inspiring an appreciation for knowledge in students and the wider community.

Read the full story of the Department’s induction into AURA in @TheU