Beckman Scholars

Beckman Scholars

The College of Science is proud to bring the Beckman Scholars Program, supported by the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation, back to the University of Utah!

The Beckman Scholars Program is a 15-month mentored research experience for exceptional undergraduate students in chemistry, biological sciences, or interdisciplinary combinations thereof.

This generous institutional award, provided by the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation to the University of Utah College of Science, spans three years (2020 – 2023), and will enable the funded support of six scholar–faculty mentor pairs. Each internally selected scholar will receive a $21,000 research stipend to facilitate 15-months of mentored research (nine academic calendar months, two three-month summers), in addition to $5,000 provided for the mentor-directed research.


Utah's Beckman Scholars

Rachel Jones

Sahar Kanishka

Sonia Sehgal

Rory Weeks

Ming Hammond


January 28, 2022 - Information Meeting and Solicitation

2022 Information Meeting in CSC #206 from 3:00-4:00 pm MST
Zoom Option Also Available:
Meeting ID: 970 9242 0726
No Passcode

2021 Program Information Slides

March 31, 2022 - Application Deadline

>> Application Form << - Apply by March 31, 2022 at 6:00 pm MST

April 2022 - Selection

Committee to conduct interviews with selected candidates (mid-April 2022)
Committee to select final candidates (May 1, 2022)
Formal disclosure of two UoU Beckman Scholars (May 15, 2022)

June 2022 - Scholars Begin

University of Utah Beckman Scholars initiate independent research projects


Prospective scholars must apply with one of fifteen internally selected UoU Beckman Scholars Program mentors. For participating faculty research mentors, see below.

College of Science faculty mentors for the Beckman Scholars Program.

In addition, prospective scholars must:

  • Be a full-time student and a declared science major;
  • Be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident;
  • Be a freshman, sophomore, or junior;
  • Commit to a research project that will last two summer semesters and the the entire academic year in between.
  • Please email with any questions.

2021 Beckman Scholars

The University of Utah has awarded two School of Biological Sciences students the prestigious

Beckman Scholars Award for 2021-2022. Rachel Jones and Sahar Kanishka will work with faculty mentors, Julie Hollien and Jamie Gagnon, respectively, from June 2021 to August 2022 in their labs.

Jones' project, "Role of p62 in alternative degradation of Huntingtin protein," aims to better understand how the protein p62 is involved in the degradation of the toxic mutant form of the protein that underlies Hungtington's disease. Kanishka's project, "Lineage tracing in zebrafish with CRISPR prime editing," aims to develop lineage tracing with prime editing to understand the mechanisms of heart regeneration in zebrafish.

The Beckman is an unprecedented opportunity, perhaps found nowhere else, in which an undergraduate researcher can hone their craft at the bench and under extraordinary mentorship. Funded by the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation, the program is a 15-month, mentored research experience for exceptional undergraduate students in chemical and biological sciences. Each scholar receives a $21,000 research stipend to facilitate nine academic calendar months and two three-month summers of research experience. Recipients from around the nation participate in the celebrated Beckman Symposium each summer with one another. Their research begins in June 2021 and will conclude in August 2022. Last year SBS's Sonia Sehgal was awarded the prize. She is now completing her mentorship with Martin Horvath in his lab.