Enhancing Diversity & Graduate Excellence in Science

The EDGES program in the College of Science seeks to increase success for graduate students in STEM fields, to enrich the academic environment for the campus community, and to broaden the STEM workforce.

This program aims to recruit, retain, and promote the success of outstanding doctoral students who have the potential to enhance the diversity of their academic fields and departments. This award is open to incoming graduate students and is active for five years or until the student graduates. EDGES Fellows receive a monetary award (up to $10,000 per fellow) and participate in supported cohort-based activities. Activities include professional development events, panel discussions, peer mentoring, and social activities.

Applications open January 2023

 

Monetary awards are divided into two allocations:

  1. An up-front disbursement of 50% of the award amount to assist with a student’s transition to graduate school, and
  2. A second allocation of 50% of the award amount that can be drawn on for research and professional development (RPD) expenses. The RPD funds can be spent any time during the award period.

Contacts


College of Science

Committee Chair

Pearl Sandick

Committee Chair

Pearl Sandick
Associate Dean for Faculty and Research
Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy
 Contact Lindsey DeSpain: 801-581-7214
 sandick@physics.utah.edu

Program Coordinator

Lindsey DeSpain

Program Coordinator

Lindsey DeSpain
 801-581-6958
 lindsey@science.utah.edu

Departments

Biology

Kent Golic - Director of Graduate Studies

Biology

Kent Golic - Director of Graduate Studies
 801-581-8726
 u0030856@utah.edu

Biology

Shannon Nielsen - Graduate Program Coordinator

Biology

Shannon Nielsen - Graduate Program Coordinator
 801-581-5636
 shannon.nielsen@bioscience.utah.edu

Chemistry

Ryan Steele - Director of Graduate Studies

Chemistry

Ryan Steele - Director of Graduate Studies
 801-587-3800
 ryan.steele@utah.edu

Chemistry

Jo Vallejo - Graduate Program Coordinator

Chemistry

Jo Vallejo - Graduate Program Coordinator
 801-581-4393
 jvallejo@chem.utah.edu

Mathematics

Fernando Guevara Vasquez - Director of Graduate Studies

Mathematics

Fernando Guevara Vasquez - Director of Graduate Studies
 801-581-6131
 u0577320@utah.edu

Mathematics

Paula Tooman - Graduate Program Coordinator

Mathematics

Paula Tooman - Graduate Program Coordinator
 801-581-6841
 tooman@math.utah.edu

Physics & Astronomy

Carsten Rott - Director of Graduate Studies

Physics & Astronomy

Carsten Rott - Director of Graduate Studies
 801-581-1849
 rott@physics.utah.edu

Physics & Astronomy

Bryce Nelson - Graduate Program Coordinator

Physics & Astronomy

Bryce Nelson - Graduate Program Coordinator
 bryce.nelson@utah.edu

 

>> HOME <<