Convocation 2020


College of Science 2020 Convocation postponed.

In alignment with a decision made collectively by members of the Utah System of Higher Education, and with clear guidance from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention discouraging travel and large gatherings, the University of Utah will be postponing all commencement ceremonies scheduled for the end of the Spring 2020 semester. This includes all graduation events, the College of Science convocation, and the campus-wide commencement. This has been a unique and trying semester for all of us, and this decision was made with the health and well-being of all members of our campus community and their loved ones in mind.

Read Peter Trapa's, Dean of the College of Science, Update on COVID-19.

We know this is disappointing for everyone, especially for you, our 2020 graduates, and your loved ones. While the ceremony that culminates graduates’ hard work and dedication will be different this year, we want you to know that your accomplishments are no less impressive. We are working to determine when and how rescheduled events will take place.We will post updates as they become available. Please send questions to

Our campus members are strong, adaptable, and dedicated to each other and to caring for their communities. We take comfort knowing that in these uncertain times, you, our graduates, are leading us into the future. We appreciate your commitment to join together as a U community and as a nation to support our collective efforts.


Related Stories

Dean’s Update

Students & COVID-19

Coronavirus Research

Convocation 2020

Essential Research


Science VS Virus